I Don’t Shave | Paloma Goñi

Lovely article. Thanks, Paloma. ~ Grace

When I asked my boyfriend to shoot these pictures, he refused. I think he didn’t want my hairy legs to be made public. He had enough with having to endure the plan (ha!). We had an interesting conversation and a few seconds later, he admitted he was wrong and agreed to take the pictures. He told me the pictures were an assault against aesthetics. I agree. They’re an assault against an aesthetic, against an image of female beauty that we have ingrained in our culture and in our society. That same image I want to change, simply because it’s not real. Women have hair on their legs. We have hair on our armpits. And on our pubis. And in a thousand other places. We’re hairy, the same as men. And that’s real. A reality that women, pressured by one another, insist on hiding.

via I Don’t Shave | Paloma Goñi.

About Sadie G

Grace Alexander is the founder of Brilliance On Demand, a full service copy-writing and social media marketing company specializing in helping her clients rule Google in their respective niches.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Shave | Paloma Goñi

  1. My friend sent me that article by Paloma, so interesting!
    And SO brave to post those, it’s always brave to post anything that goes against the, well, hair.
    Great article that.

Leave a Reply

